//
you're reading...
Deflected Free-Kick: Football Blogjams

Premiership Teams of the Season 09/10

Following Gabriele Marcotti’s (of The Times Sport) inspired idea of doing 4 tiered Premiership teams of the season (visit http://timesonline.typepad.com/thegame/2010/05/my-premier-league-teams-of-the-season.html) I thought I would utterly plagiarise his idea and do my own; I mean, come on, he put Gerrard in his tier 2 team! I can’t be having that. The reasoning for doing teams of the year in this fashion I can’t be arsed to explain so I will go one step further than plagiarising Marcotti and shamelessly copy and paste his explanation:

“Look at the Premier League table and you see Chelsea and Manchester United together at the top, Arsenal ten points back, but with a healthy five-point lead over the five clubs ranked fourth through eighth. Then there’s an eleven-point gap between the five sides between 9 and 13 who enjoy a five-point gap between them and the rest of the table.
So, with that in mind, I split the Premier League up into four tiers (to be fair, Arsenal probably ought to get their own tier, but I did not want to make a Best XI composed only of Arsenal players, so I lumped them with Chelsea and Untied) and made a best XI for each. It’s more fun this way and forces you to think a bit more about players who don’t get talked about as much.”

So there. Nicely put Marcotti. Now be quiet, you’ve done your bit. Now it’s time for MY teams:

TIER 1 – CHELSKI, MAN UTD, THE ARSE

Van der Sar
Ivanovic – Vermaelen – Vidic – Cole
Nani – Fabregas – Lampard – Malouda
Rooney – Drogba

Manager: Carlo Ancelotti

TIER 2 – SPURS, MAN CITY, ASTON VILLA, LIVERPOOL, EVERTON

Gomes
Heitinga – Dunne – Dawson – Baines
Milner – De Jong – Huddlestone – Bellamy
Tevez – Torres

Manager: Harry Redknapp

TIER 3 – BIRMINGHAM, STOKE, BLACKBURN, FULHAM, SUNDERLAND

Hart
Carr – Roger Johnson – A.Faye – Konchesky
Bowyer – Cana – Murphy – Duff
Bent – Zamora

Manager: Alex McCleish (before all you Fulham fans get angry, this is based on Premier League performance, not Europa League)

TIER 4 – BOLTON, WOLVES, WIGAN, WEST HAM, BURNLEY, HULL, PORTSMOUTH

Kirkland
Steinsson – Craddock – Cahill – Figueroa
Lee Chung Yong – Parker – O’ Hara – Jarvis
Doyle – Rodallega

Manager: Mick McCarthy

And there you have it. Feel free to beat my viewpoints to a pulp with any sadly misguided disagreements you may have. I did plan to do a mighty explanation of all my above choices but, quite frankly, if Marcotti isn’t going to provide me with one then I’d much rather be lazy and leave it at that.

Cheers folks!

Discussion

One thought on “Premiership Teams of the Season 09/10

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Posted by ragmaempabCab | May 27, 2010, 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

